National Parks Service

Created in 1916, the National Park Service preserves unimpaired the natural and cultural resources and values of the National Park System for the enjoyment, education, and inspiration of this and future generations. The Park Service cooperates with partners to extend the benefits of natural and cultural resource conservation and outdoor recreation throughout this country and the world.

The National Park System covers more than 84 million acres (339,936 km2)and is comprised of 417 sites with at least 19 different designations. These include 129 historical parks or sites, 87 national monuments, 59 national parks, 25 battlefields or military parks, 19 preserves, 18 recreation areas, 10 seashores, four parkways, four lakeshores, and two reserves.

National Parks

National Monuments

National Historic Parks

National Historic Sites

National Recreation Areas

National Memorials

National Preserves

National Seashores